Back to News

NJCAA Adds Seven New Members

Rules • July 26, 2022

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA (July 26, 2022) – The National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) has announced the onboarding of seven new member colleges to join the association beginning this academic year:

Shorter College (Arkansas)

LaGuardia Community College (New York)

Arkansas State University Mountain Home

Community Christian College (Michigan)

North Central Michigan

Northwest-Shoals Community College (Alabama)

Mesalands Community College (New Mexico) 

Decorated in blue and gold, Shorter College is one of the nation’s 110 Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) and the only private, two-year HBCU institution. The college is introducing Division II men’s and women’s basketball to its campus and the Bulldogs will compete under NJCAA Region 2. The NJCAA will also welcome Arkansas State University Mountain Home to this region as it will offer Division II men’s and women’s cross country, baseball, and softball. ASUMH is a public, open access, two-year college campus of the Arkansas State University System. 

Sports are returning to LaGuardia Community College this fall, starting with men’s and women’s cross country and men’s soccer. In the winter, the Red Hawks will offer men’s and women’s basketball, all representing NJCAA Region 15 under Division III. 

With nine sports offerings, including football, volleyball, men’s and women’s soccer, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s wrestling, baseball, and softball, Community Christian College out of Detroit will compete as a Division I institution in NJCAA Region 12. Fellow region member North Central Michigan launched its club sports program in 2019, but will now offer Division II men’s and women’s cross country, volleyball and men’s and women’s basketball as the Timberwolves.

Out of Region 22, Northwest-Shoals Community College will compete at the Division I level in baseball, and softball. The Patriots’ athletics programs have been reinstated at the college and are members of the Alabama Community College Conference (ACCAC).

Mesalands has joined Region 5 and offers men’s and women’s cross country teams as well as men’s and women’s golf teams. All four teams are competing in the NJCAA and are Division I sports.

All seven new members are ineligible for the 2022-23 postseason but will be eligible in the 2023-24 academic year.


NJCAA Athletics New Programs